This Page

has been moved to new address

Youth hockey: Clifton Park Bantams takes Pipes Tourney title

Sorry for inconvenience...

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service
Diary of a Mad Sportswriter: Youth hockey: Clifton Park Bantams takes Pipes Tourney title

Diary of a Mad Sportswriter

Stan Hudy is a sportswriter for The Saratogian and Community News. He covers high school and youth sports in the Saratoga County area as well as writing a weekly book review on sports books. He's not just a "stick and ball" sportswriter, he's willing to take on any sport as well as any subject.

Friday, January 14, 2011

Youth hockey: Clifton Park Bantams takes Pipes Tourney title

The Clifton Park Youth Hockey Bantam B1 team went undefeated and won its ‘Between the Pipes’ Tournament in early January.

During round robin play, Clifton Park beat two teams from Watertown and one Rochester team to get to the finals where they faced their Northway rival; Adirondack. In the round robin play, Clifton Park’s defense and goal tending were spectacular and only allowed only one goal during the three games.

In the championship game, Clifton Park struck first on a shorthanded goal halfway into the first period , but Adirondack converted the power play to quickly tie the game. The Eagles tallied twice late in the period to go ahead 3-1. The teams traded goals in the second and the score remained 4-2 for much of the period, then Clifton Park’s offense ignited to finish the game with four consecutive goals for an 8-2 final.

Clifton Park skater Liam Cannon had a hat trick (three goals) with Robby West, Lars Pennartz, Tyler Donaldson, Jarrett Pelton, and Ben Robbins each adding a goal. David Mackey played well throughout the tournament allowing a total of only three goals in four games.

Coaches: Head Coach Steve West and Assistant Coach Dan Greene. Back row: Ben Robbins, Lars Pennartz, Adam Mackey, Owen Greene, Philip Poling, Jarrett Pelton, Ryan Smith, Tim Marra. Middle row: Ryan Whimple, Tyler Donaldson, Robby West, Kyle Wlaschin, Liam Cannon, Matt McGarvey, and Chris O’Keefe. Front Row: goalie David Mackey.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home