This Page

has been moved to new address

Shen's Deitz wins Section II golf title

Sorry for inconvenience...

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service
Diary of a Mad Sportswriter: Shen's Deitz wins Section II golf title

Diary of a Mad Sportswriter

Stan Hudy is a sportswriter for The Saratogian and Community News. He covers high school and youth sports in the Saratoga County area as well as writing a weekly book review on sports books. He's not just a "stick and ball" sportswriter, he's willing to take on any sport as well as any subject.

Thursday, October 11, 2007

Shen's Deitz wins Section II golf title

Shenendehowa senior Justin Deitz set a blistering pace in the second day of competition of the Section II golf tournament and never looked back.

The Plainsmen duffer fired a 5-under-par 31 on the front nine at Altamont's Orchard Creek Golf Course, leading the field by six strokes. He would finish with a two-day tally of 68-68 136, 6-under par for the tournament.

The 16 finalist carried over Tuesday's cut-down round with the top 15 scores and ties advancing to Thursday's 18-hole final. The top nine golfers will compete next spring in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association tournament.

The biggest disappointment on the day belonged to Shenendehowa sophomore Ryan Simpson who dropped 14 strokes on the afternoon, mainly due to an injured back, hampering his swing throughout the day.

Ravena's Greg Russ birdied the 18th hole to force a playoff with Simpson for final qualifier status. Russ birdied No. 10 and Simpson had a four for a par. Russ would qualify for the June tourney and Simpson was relegated as the first-alternate.

Shen senior Joe Macaluso qualified for the state tournament for the first time, firing a consistant 72-73 145 followed by Stillwater sophomore Mark Sabatino with a 74-74 148.

Section II NYSPHSAA golf qualifer
Name Day 1-Day 2 Total
1. Justin Deitz, Shen. 68-68 136
2. Jeb Buchanon, Shaker 71-71 142
3. Joe Macaluso, Shen 72-73 145
4. Mark Sabatino, Stillwater 74-74 148
5. Mike Duncan, Guilderland 72-77 149
6. Nick Longo, Schalmont 76-74 150
7. Matt Horton, Hoosic Valley 74-77 151
8. Mike Byrnes, Queensbury 71-82 153
9. Greg Russ, Ravena 77-78 155*
Alt. Ryan Simpson, Shen 71-84 155

Josh Ingham, Icabod Crane 77-80 157
Will Sutton, Galway 76-83 159
Erik Hill, Bethlehem 80-79 159
Brian Mariano, Mechanicville 75-84 160
Matt Brandt, Scotia 79-83 162
Connor Hart Schalmont 80-86 166
*Advanced on 1-hole playoff

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home